Skip to main content

Proudly an 80s Babe !!!

The other day I attended a party and I was alarmed by the content some of the songs played had. Imagine a song with these words 'wa fe ku lale yi' meaning 'you must surely die tonight'. Its a Nigerian song by the way, in the Yoruba dialect.

Contemporary Nigerian songs are beginning to scare the shit out of me (excuse my language but that's how freaked out I get when I hear some of 'em') This is because a good number of them lack content or decent words.
If they are not singing about sex, drug abuse, making money illegally over legally and everything in-between, it won't lack the use of vulgar language, violence, and what not. Its surprising yet that the most shallow songs win the highest accolades and awards as the case where. Not encouraging at all.
This then might probably be the reason why we never get enough of them. Towards the end of last year, a 16year old cousin of mine who's into music, asked me to listen to his song and Boy! was I taken aback. The lyrics goes thus
'Baby do you know that, this your body eh, make we just soji eh. Baby do you know that...'and try to picture the look on my face. Yep!!! Exactly. I was like 'WHAT!!!' you are just 16. Can't you sing about God, about inspiring your friends, hoping for a better future, a letter to your mother, a song for Nigeria. I mean, the options are endless. What do you know about a woman's body, are you suggesting sex, do you know about teenage pregnancy? ...LOL. My cousin left me instantly. I was asking too many questions right?

Sorry I sound a bit old fashioned but I refuse to believe the society is that degraded.

Another aspect I find pretty annoying is when I see little girls twist and wine and twerk...TWERK!!!. Is it safe to say this is the reason we have an alarming rate of child molestation and increase in paedophiles? I'm not saying these men shouldn't be castrated for such crimes but I feel if children especially the females are not exposed to the kind of songs meant for adults and as a result pick up dance steps that are meant for adults, it wouldn't be this bad.

If you are an 80s generation and by that I mean from 1981 to 1989, you will remember we were welcomed home from school with a rainbow coloured screen on the infamous NTA etc. We watched cartoons like Dodo the King from Outer Space, Super Ted, Tender Bears, Danger Mouse, Jumbo, Tom and Jerry etc. Much later we had Voltron, Power Rangers, Biker Mice, Silver hawks etc I'm sure you also remember waking up very early on Saturday to watch Cadbury Breakfast Show.... What happened? And who says we didn't have series? Remember Dr Who, Allo Allo, Spencer, Rent-a-Ghost. Television had a lot to offer a child intellectually back then.

What we have now I can't place my hands on. I pray you, do tell me what happened, what changed? And the songs we had back then, my goodness!!!  I just had this conversation with my colleague at work and we began to reminisce on songs from back in the day. 
We were literally dancing as we sang some of these songs. we went crazy like GURL,That was a hit!!!. I mean, these were songs that had connotative meanings but they were not all up in your face. Sexual healing by Marvin Gaye, Workerman by Patra (butterfly dance), Diana King's Shy Guy, Inner Circle's Sweat and the list goes on and on.  They were suggesting sex but they were so palatable to listen to. Do I say all the songs that 'made sense' ended in 1999, and what we have now is diluted crap?

Back then, radio was so fun to listen to because the deejay had a way of playing songs that match your mood and it would instantly help you relax or set the mood for whatever is on your mind but now, I can only shake my head.


Have I written too much already??? Hehehehehe. But for now, that's all. Try downloading this song below, it should help you relate to how I feel.



PS: your comment is like CocaCola to me, it boosts me up. Keep them coming. 

Comments

christy said…
well said....u r on point.
Taraspace said…
Thanks Christy, I'm glad to like.

Popular posts from this blog

Mummy North!

Guys, I have come again o!. This time, its about a certain Mummy North. I will gist you all that happened since yesterday till now. Imagine how just a few photographs can stir up the world. Power of Social Media or perhaps InstaMedia (Instagram) So I was told Mummy North was on her own when Paper magazine walked up to her, requesting that she'd be the cover girl for their #breaktheinternet issue. As a sharp 34 year old nursing mother of Armenian blood, such an offer must not pass her by. Considering the amount she was going to get from it which by now we know would be no chicken fee.  My very reliable sources say it was actually Mama North that suggested the nude photos to The Paper Magazine.  Even its director told us that Mummy North said 'if we are gonna do it, let's really go there'.  According to him, it was Mummy North's idea to take off her clothes and show more butt. She was willing to take off her clothes.... Hmmmm, things we watch on TV. She must have...

LIVING IN LAGOS CHRONICLES BY YOURS TRULY

Its been a minute yeah, I know and I've missed you. After a conversation with some friends, I finally got inspired to write about one of my Living in Lagos Chronicles. As much as every memory of this incident surprises me, I find a reason or two to laugh real hard and even consider acting...lol. The initial plan on this fateful morning was to go to work as usual but then that bad angel whispered evil thoughts of where I could go to and would have more fun (unholy) obviously, #imnosaint!. So I changed routes and headed to ........... story for another day. I had enough opportunities to change my mind because I was so unlucky from the very beginning. First, I had to sit in a bus for 2 good hours trying to wait for passengers and of course they never came. I got impatient, got off the bus and went to some other bus stop. Luckily I found one, it took me to Costain. At least I was a bit close to my destination, Surulere. Then I began to wait again at the Costain ...

Game or Simply Lame

I was having one of my chitchat moments with a close friend and the topic 'Standards' was raised. It was then I realized that many dating couples have too high standards they expect of each other thus many single people or broken marriages. Everyone has standards,they keeps us motivated to do our best, but often times these standards cause undue stress. Some often impose their standards on their loved ones; this is a new source of stress and frustration for partners who feel they cannot meet these expectations. I'm not saying standards are not good or unhealthy in relationship, I only think it shouldn't determine how much or how far the relationship should go. It also shouldn't be a criterium to determine if the relationship will lead to marriage but then again who is to blame? The partner with unattainable standards or the one who isn't truthful to him or herself and believes these standards can be reached.